The Toughest Race So far!

April 14th, 2019: You know a race is going to be interesting when you wake up to a Special Weather Statement! The Steaming Nostril 65km gravel race is a mix of 70% gravel road, 20% paved road and 10% off-road riding which shouldnt be too bad a single speed gravel bike. However, rain, 30km/hr winds and temperatures of -5 combined with being a sufferer of Raynauds Syndrome and also asthma made for a test of grit! The kind that gets stuck in your teeth and the type that is a measure of your courage and resolve.

Race Prep

April in Ontario can mean ice, snow, freezing rain, regular rain but it was always going to be cold and I was going to need to be prepared for mechanical issues and enough nutrition to last a 2.3-3hr race. Here is a list of my clothing, nutrition and equipment for race day.

Clothing

  • Gortex windbreaker
  • icebreaker base layer
  • Technical shirt
  • Pearl Izumi thermal long sleeve cycling jersey
  • Dhb bib tights
  • 3 pairs socks with Toe Warmers between first 2 pairs
  • Shimano mtb shoes and neoprene shoe covers
  • Neoprene cycling gloves
  • MET manta aero cycling helmet
  • MEC hand band

In my pockets

  • Gel Flask with 6 energy gels slightly watered down
  • Tube, CO2, multi tool, quicklink, tire levers
  • Extra gel (in case of emergency)
  • Phone with race emergency numbers inside ziplock bag
  • Asthma inhaler

On the Bike

  • Vittoria Terreno Dry tire on the front (40psi)
  • Schwaible G tire on the rear (40psi)
  • 750ml Presidents choice tropical sports drink
  • Single speed gearing: 42-16
  • Only 1 water bottle holder (to make carrying the bike easier)

The Race

The race started on time at 11:10am.  I guess this start would usually allow the temperatures to warm up.  However, the reverse was true on this day and the rain went from a light drizzle to relentless and the winds picked up to 30km/hr. 

The race began on the field behind the Waterloo Rod and Gun club and began with a short sharp uphill.  With the rain, the ground was too soft for me to make it up the hill and I had to quickly dismount and remount which felt slightly embarrassing with all the other UCI riders around me appearing to clear the hill without too many problems.  The joys of single speed I guess.  The effort of getting up the hill, cold wind and adrenaline of the race start left me gasping for breath with my asthma kicking in.  No time to reach for my inhaler yet though as I wanted to make the most of getting up some speed on the paved roads that make up the first 3rd of the course.  In hindsight, I should have reached for it asap because it provided dramatic relief from my wheezing and I was able to quickly make up some time passing riders.

The paved roads were in good condition but puddles were frequent and the rain consistent.  Drafting or working together in groups became almost impossible due to the muddy water that was sprayed from the rear tire of the person in front.  My face was quickly covered in mud and I was regularly  blinded.  I knew that I wouldnt be able to manage muddy glasses so did not bring them.  Wiping my eyes with muddy gloves was pointless and at one point, my eyes were so full of mud that I considered rinsing them out with sports drink – tropical flavour!  Instead, I  chose to avoid riding too close to the other cyclists and keep blinking. 

I was soaked through within the first 30 minutes: hands, feet, legs, body.  I think only my head stayed relatively dry due to the mostly non-ventilated aero helmet.  Soaking wet meant freezing cold.  I couldnt feel my toes and fingers, then my feet and hands then from the knees down.  I went through stages of severe pain, numbness and having a hard time griping the handle bars.  

Raynaud’s Syndrome means that the smaller arteries of the hands and feet go into spasm when triggered by cold conditions, dramatically reducing the circulation to fingers and toes.  As a result, I have be very careful since even moderately cold conditions can lead to tissue damage and chilblains and I am more prone to frostbite than the average person.  It can also be an extremely painful condition when moving from temperature extremes leading to burning, throbbing and tingling pain as the arteries spasm or re-open.  I’m not sure what type of gloves/socks/shoes would have kept me warm under these conditions but the agony experienced during the race meant it was extremely tough to endure the 65km.  The only thing keeping me going was knowing that stopping would mean sitting in my cold wet clothes in a cop car or standing unsheltered waiting for a sag wagon to pick me up.  I told myself that I could get to the end of the race in the same amount of time that it would ultimately take to be driven.  I kept the pedals turning and spent long periods standing to help move blood to my feet.

9185EFAB-F6BF-41CE-9DA9-90175E7FDF9C

Photo from Kraiker Photography 

There was a mixture of surfaces in this race with soft muddy rail trails testing my off-road confidence and farmers fields testing my arm and calf strength as there was no use trying to cycle.  I just picked up my bike cyclocross-style and ran/walked through the roughest parts.   Not being able to feel my feet, it felt like I was running on stumps.  I think that some time off the bike probably helped force some blood into my toes and those cycling around me were not much faster on their bikes due to the deep mud.

Most of the mid-section of the race seemed to be gravel roads.  Lots of headwind but I made steady progress sitting and standing where necessary.  The occasional tail wind felt amazing!

There is a section of the race called the longest kilometer.  It is at around Km 62.  It includes a stream crossing, deep deep muddy trails zigzagging around a maple syrup farm and finishing with a steep hill where apparently there is an option to take a longer route around it or a shorter but much steeper route straight up the hill.  I didn’t see that there was options! LOL, so with my bike on my shoulder I struggled straight up the slick bank, nicknamed Mud Mountain!  There was almost nothing to grip onto but somehow my shoes, despite the neoprene shoe covers, managed to lock into a few tree roots and I made it up. 

Others were not so lucky: A cyclist too my right slid half-way down the hill on his front only stopped by a tree between his legs.  I also saw a derailleur break on someone’s bike at the top as soon as they re-mounted to complete the final 3km.  The deep mud had taken its toll! I hope they were able to make it to the end, even if they had to do the final bit on foot.  Although I do not have a derailleur on my bike, carrying it on my shoulder rather than running along side it saved the brakes and forks from being caked in mud and is probably faster in the muddiest sections.  I have learned a couple of things from the Paris to Ancaster Race!

Having successfully scrambled up Mud Mountain and hearing there was about 3km to go, I got my second wind!  The running, scrambling and relief to get up the hill had meant I had some feeling back in my hands and toes, and while that meant they were in agony again, I had renewed energy and could grip the handlebars better and raced to gain as many places as possible on my way to the finish line!

Crossing the finish line, I could have cried!  What a relief to hear my name called by the announcer.  I had made it! I congratulated a couple of riders that crossed just before and after me and eagerly cycled up to the Rod and Gun Club to get warm. 

Recovery from the cold!

On entering the first doors of the club house, I saw in front of me a guy on the ground shivering uncontrollably.  He didnt have the energy to remove his shoes and was soon helped by paramedics and other riders.  I removed one of my neoprene gloves and was immediately met with a feeling I have never had before.  It felt like I had dipped my hand in gasoline and set it on fire.  The change in temperature gave me a severe attack of Raynaud’s.  A couple minutes later and I was screaming.  I couldnt speak, was shivering and didnt know how to make the pain stop.  Part of me wanted to back outside to get my hands colder again.  It took 2 paramedics to convince me to go into the main part of the clubhouse.  I needed convincing because I was terrified that being warmer would make the pain of my hands worse and that the same would happen to my feet.  The paramedics found me a seat, and volunteers quickly covered me with a silver blanket and then a huge wool blanket.  The 2 paramedics struggled to remove the many layers of my feet.  To a non-rider, it must have been a real puzzle – velcro neoprene shoe covers, side zip on bib tights, unusual shoe fastening and 3 pairs of socks!

Underneath those layers, my feet were completely white and were quickly wrapped in blankets.  The pain in my hands dissipated over about 20 minutes.  It was the most intense pain that I have ever experienced.  Hands should not feel like they are on fire!

A volunteer found my bag of clothes and brought me a hot drink with plenty of sugar.  Amazing care from everyone!  I will be forever grateful.  I sat for about 30 minutes in total before making it to the bathroom and changing out of the wet clothes into many many layers of dry clothes.  I’m sad glad I overpacked!  2 bowls of chilli later and while still shivering, at least I was functional again in time for the awards.

Awards

Turns out I came 5th female overall!!!  The time was 3hrs 6minutes.  If the ground had been frozen, it would have been a much faster race, but I was fortunate even to finish.   I didnt qualify for the age group awards since I had entered in the single speed category but as the only woman on a single speed, I ended up coming away with a couple of medals and $75 for my efforts.  Perhaps the prize money should go towards something that will keep me warm and dry in this type of race!

I think anyone that showed up to the start line for the race this year should be hugely proud of themselves. Most of the finishers showed signs of hypothermia and no doubt the 50 that opted to end their race early and jump in a sag wagon were suffering the most.

I am not sure what I could wear next year to manage the weather conditions better but I am definitely open to suggestions! This was a superbly organized race. The cops managing traffic (including horse and buggys), paramedics, volunteers and race organizers did a fantastic job. The food at the end was delicious and the maple syrup shots available at the base of Mud Mountain were greatly appreciated!

Will I be back? we will have to see!